web analytics

TFCLogo1

TFCBanner1
TFCLogo1

Member Login

Texins Flying Club is a non-profit club based at McKinney National Airport in McKinney, TX.  Our purpose is to encourage interest in aviation, to advance the knowledge of the members in aeronautical and navigational subjects, and to bring to more people the social benefits and pleasure of flying.”

 

 

FacebookLogo  Join us on Face Book

 
Latest Newsletter
 

New Member Orientation Guide
 

Local Weather / Notams

 Upcoming Safety Events

FAA Training Documents

  

TFC Store 

Robert McLeod has worked up a great looking Store on Cafe Press. Check out the offerings and wear them when you come to the airport.

Take the link on the Miscellaneous Menu  or 
 www.cafepress.com/texinsfc

 

 

 Wings Manual 

Check out this manual for the Wings Program.

WINGS is a preferred way to complete the requirements of the BFR and is urged by the Chief Flight Instructor of the Texins Flying Club. 

To BFR or WINGS?

What is it and why?    more..... 

Garmin FlightStream with Foreflight

Need help getting Foreflight and the GNS 430 to talk to each other?  Chris Dennis put together a nice YouTube video on how to connect and synchronize your flight plan. It's short and to the point and worth watching. If it fails to connect and you have connected before, remove the refference to the link from your device and re-pair the device.

The Latest News

N6833C (PA28-180) is ONLINE

A new radio stack has been installed.   Below is a look at the new stack.


N6833C New Panel


   

N3589L Cleared for Takeoff

The club has a new addition to the fleet: N3589L is a '65 C-150F model. This plane is online and ready to fly now. This is a nice low-time airframe and equipped with basic IFR and now ADS-B IN/OUT. It's a great option for basic training, building hours, or short excursions. We hope you can make some plans to try her out soon. Rental rate $108/hr (tach). 


New Fuel Receipt Procedure

The new procedure is to note the offsite fuel gallons in your tach log entry as before and to email your receipt with the usual information:

  • Tail number
  • Gallons purchased
  • Club number
  • Date

Then take a photo of your receipt showing the purchase location and the amounts purchased - make sure the image is legible - and attach the receipt image to the email.

Send your message to: fuel@texinsflyingclub.org   

a_TSALogo
a_AdvisoryBannerS
The Department of Homeland Security and the Transportation Security Administration (TSA) continue to monitor reports on potential terrorist threats in the United States. While there is no specific or credible intelligence that al-Qa'ida or its affiliates are plotting attacks in the United States to coincide with the ten year anniversary of 9/11 , we remain at a heightened state of vigilance and security measures are in place to detect and prevent plots against the United States should they emerge.

Learn To Fly

 Wet Rates and Reimbursements

Schedule a Discovery Flight
(Temporarily Suspended)

The TFC provides "discovery" flights to anyone interested in flying. For only $99.00 we'll put you in the left seat with a certified flight instructor and let you fly the airplane. WHAT BETTER WAY TO DECIDE IF FLYING IS FOR YOU? Contact our chief flight instructor to take advantage of this offer.  You can pay by check or by using paypal_logo.

Tail No.

Make Model (info)

Rate/Hr

 N3589L

C-150F 1965

108.00 

 

 N6833C

PA28-180C 1965 Piper Cherokee

128.00 

 

 N737TY

C-172N 1978 SuperHawk

135.00 

 

 N733NB

C172N-180 1977 SuprHawk

135.00 

 

 N7508J

PA28-R180 1968 PiperArrow

135.00 

 

 N3QZ

C-182P 1973 Skylane

165.00 

 

 N4135W

PA28-181 1999 Piper Archer III

138.00 

 

 

Our aircraft flight fees are WET TACH time, which means fuel is included and time is measured on engine use, not wall clock time. Non-instructional flights have an additional 8.25% sales tax. More information...

If your credit card is not current, please fill out the Credit Card Authorization Form included in the New Member Application Packet. All members both new and old need to have a copy of this Packet  completely fill out, signed & dated and sent to the address shown on the Credit Card Authorization form.

Membership is currently on hold.  There is a waiting list if you are interested in adding your name to the list.

Fuel
Reimbursement Rate

$4.99 / gallon

effective as of
1/1/2019 

If you refuel an aircraft on a trip and spend less than this on 100LL, we pass the savings on to you!

Things to Consider

TFC Pilot Acknowledgments & Events

Membership meetings:

Held the second Saturday of every month at the McKinney Airport (upper level conferance room) at 9:30 AM. Board meetings are on the preceding Wednesday each month at 6:30 PM and are held at the Airport in the upstairs conference room. Both are open to the public.

 Directions  to
Collin Country Regional Airport

Welcome Newest Members!

  

Member News & Notes

 Member    

 Date  

 Accomplishment

 Instructor  

Sam Combs 07/12/2019   Private  Bob Niedwiecki  
Chris Dennis  07/17/2019  Instrument   Richard Klein  
Kjetil Storaker  08/02/2019  1st Solo  Kurtis Sampson 
Mike Faulkinbury 08/07/2019 Private  Dinu Catona 
Bruce MacKenzie 08/16/2019 Commercial Richard Klein
Carly Arnold  09/24/2019  Private Pilot  Hank Eilts 
Yan Xiao 11/08/2019 Instrument Dinu Catona
Shannon Warren 11/18/2019 Solo   Richard Klein  
Scott Stafford 11/24/2019 Private Pilot Bob Niedwiecki
Manolo Centeno 12/13/2019  Commercial  Bob Niedwiecki 
 Randy Gann 12/17/2019  Private Pilot  Graham & Eilts 
 Danny Burks 1/4/2020 Solo

Kurtis Sampson 

 Colin McNalley 1/20/2020  Solo Cross Country Kurtis Sampson
 Mike Gonzalez 2/28/2020 Private Pilot  Thomas/Klein
Chris Schreiner
4/15/2020 Private Pilot Kurtis Sampson 
 

 Upcoming Event(s)

 

 

(Watch
again )

 Safer Skyes Through Education  

"NAFI - The Possible Turn / Engine Failure After Takeoff In A Single-Engine Airplane"

Topic: Discussion of the principles involved in returning to the airport safely after engine failure in a Single Engine Airplane.

Description: Until recently, conventional training and wisdom dictated that pilots should always land straight ahead when confronted by an engine failure that occurs shortly after takeoff. This controversial topic has been hotly debated since the early days of aviation to the point where turning around to land on the departure runway has been called "the impossible turn." It can be argued convincingly, however, that there are instances when it would be safer to return to the airport than to land straight ahead following such an engine failure. 

The FAA now states matter-of-factly in Advisory Circular 61-83J that "flight instructors should demonstrate and teach trainees when and how to make a safe 180-degree turnback to the field after an engine failure."

During this presentation, Brian Schiff will discuss the principles involved in returning to the airport safely. It will be based to a large extent on his father, Barry Schiff's, decades of study and research involving this subject.

To view this webinar, take this link https://www.mentorlive.site/program/20.html.

The sponsor for this seminar was: FAASTeam

 

Watch Again 

 Safer Skyes Through Education    

"Weather Technology In The Cockpit (WTIC) - FAA NextGen Weather Research Program"

Topic: AVAILABLE IMMEDIATELY - Presentation on FAA NextGen Weather Research Program and accessing weather data in the cockpit.

On Wednesday, June 12, 2019 at 19:00 Central Daylight Time (17:00 PDT, 18:00 MDT, 20:00 EDT, 14:00 HST, 16:00 AKDT, 17:00 Arizona, 00:00 GMT)

Select Number: CE0392953

Description: The Weather Technology in the Cockpit (WTIC) program is an FAA NextGen weather research program that researches how weather is presented to pilots and what information is insufficient or missing, and potential means to deliver enhanced weather information, presentations and technology for the cockpit. 

WTIC research develops, verifies, and validates Minimum Weather Service (MinWxSvc) recommendations for FAR Parts 91 (general aviation), 121 (commercial), and 135 (business) operations to address weather information presentation shortfalls in order to enhance pilot weather decision-making in advance of encountering adverse weather conditions.

The WTIC program researches ways to improve:

  • cockpit weather information
  • pilot understanding and interpretation of cockpit weather information and technologies
  • weather information training
  • operational inefficiencies and safety risks associated with these gaps and shortfalls in cockpit weather information

This course will focus on key takeaways from WTIC research, and will provide insight on cockpit weather information and weather decision making that impact pilots in flight.

To watch this webinar again, select  https://www.faasteamtv.com/SafetyCenter/WTIC2018/ 

The sponsor for this seminar is: FAASTeam

 

May 6 

  Safer Skyes Through Education  

"FAA Safety Briefing LIVE! - May/June 2020 Issue"

Topic: This Issue of FAA Safety Briefing Focuses on Proper Communication  in Aviation and It's Critical Role in Furthering Safety.

On Wednesday, May 6, 2020 at 07:00 Central Daylight Time (05:00 PDT, 06:00 MDT, 08:00 EDT, 02:00 HST, 04:00 AKDT, 05:00 Arizona, 12:00 GMT)

Select Number: CE03100163

Description: This presentation introduces and discusses content in the May/June 2020 issue of the FAA Safety Briefing magazine. The May/June 2020 issue focuses on the importance of proper communication in aviation and its critical role in furthering safety. Feature articles include a refresher on the basics of good "aviation” grammar, how to use correct phraseology to avoid confu­sion or misunderstandings, and how to best leverage the technology and equipment at your disposal to maximize communication efficiency and accuracy.

NOTE: While many of the ideas covered in the quiz are included in the presentation, you may need to download a copy of the magazine from: https://www.faa.gov/news/safety_briefing/ to complete this course.

To view further details and registration information for this webinar, click here.

The sponsor for this seminar is: FAASTeam

The following credit(s) are available for the WINGS/AMT Programs:

Basic Knowledge 3 - 1 Credit  AMT: 1.00

Click here to view the WINGS help page 

 

May 12 

  Safer Skyes Through Education  

"American Bonanza Society - Avoiding Pilot Deviations"

Topic: Michael Madigan Tells What He Learned From His Experience, So Other Pilots Are Better Able To Avoid Pilot Deviations.

On Tuesday, May 12, 2020 at 19:00 Central Daylight Time (17:00 PDT, 18:00 MDT, 20:00 EDT, 14:00 HST, 16:00 AKDT, 17:00 Arizona, 00:00 GMT)
 

Select Number: CE03100292

Description:  You probably think it will never happen to you, but if you experience a deviation you may face FAA action, and far more importantly, you are at risk of colliding with another aircraft. In this program we'll cover:

  • Different types of pilot deviations
  • The speaker's personal experience with an altitude deviation causing loss of separation 
  • FAA regulations governing pilot deviations
  • Remedies available to the FAA 
  • The pilot's rights when notified of a possible deviation
  • Techniques for avoiding pilot deviations

Viewers will be able to type in their questions to be answered during the event. We'll explain how to do so at the beginning of the webinar.

To view further details and registration information for this webinar, click here.

The sponsor for this seminar is: FAASTeam

The following credit(s) are available for the WINGS/AMT Programs:

  • Basic Knowledge 1 - 1 Credit

Click here to view the WINGS help page 

 

May 18 

  Safer Skyes Through Education   

"The Silent Killer- Carbon Monoxide"

Topic: The Silent Killer: Carbon Monoxide

On Monday, May 18, 2020 at 18:30 Central Daylight Time (16:30 PDT, 17:30 MDT, 19:30 EDT, 13:30 HST, 15:30 AKDT, 16:30 Arizona, 23:30 GMT)

Select Number: SW15100315

Description:  Bill Holland is long time pilot, air show boss, and RC Pilot, and works as a Nurse Practitioner and will give a presentation on CO poisoning in aircraft.  

To view further details and registration information for this webinar, click here.

The sponsor for this seminar is: FAASTeam

The following credit(s) are available for the WINGS/AMT Programs:

  • Basic Knowledge 3 - 1 Credit       AMT: 1.00

Click here to view the WINGS help page 

 

May 

  Safer Skyes Through Education  

"FLY-RITE Preflight Weather Risk Assessment Webinars - May 2020 Webinar Event Announcement"

Topic: We will cover preflight weather risk assessment and the unexpected tool for spotting thunderstorms.

On Sunday, May 31, 2020 at 22:00 Pacific Daylight Time (23:00 MDT, 00:00 CDT, 01:00 EDT, 19:00 HST, 21:00 AKDT, 22:00 Arizona, 05:00 GMT)
 

Select Number: WP01100244

Description:  Below are the webinar announcements and dates for all three of our webinars for the month of May 2020:

Intro to Weather Briefings

Aviation Weather Hazards: Identify and Avoid 

Avoid and Weather Risk Assessment

Please click on the event title below to view the details and register for the events you would like to attend. 

"Weather is the most lethal of all major causes of aviation accidents.” Former FAA Administrator

Intro to Weather Briefings

Weather is the most lethal of all major causes of aviation accidents.

In this 90 minute webinar, Delia will show you how to meet the FAA briefing requirements while ALSO developing skills that will allow you to make better decisions regarding flight. 

  • Learn the 6 elements you MUST CHECK in any brief
  • How to significantly reduce the mountain of needless data
  • How to use (and the value of)  the new graphical forecast for aviation
  • When severe weather doesn't qualify as an adverse condition

Plus we'll walk through a standard weather brief, followed by Q&A

Dates offered for this month:

Thursday, 21 May 2020 - Intro to Weather Briefings 4:30 PM PDT/7:30 PM EDT

Thursday, 28 May 2020 - Intro to Weather Briefings 3:30 PM PDT/6:30 PM EDT

Sunday, 31 May 2020 - Intro to Weather Briefings 4:00 PM PDT/7:00 PM EDT

Aviation Weather Hazards: Identify and Avoid

In this 60 minute webinar you'll learn methods to do just that. Assess the potential hazards and how to avoid them.

•    The top resource for assessing potential turbulence or mountain wave.

•    Tools that most pilots rely on—that are not reliable (and what to use instead)

•    How to determine if thunderstorms will be a factor

•    Recognizing turbulence or LLWS even when it's not forecast. 

•    Identifying mountain weather hazards in areas with few reporting points.

Dates offered for this month:

Wednesday, 20 May 2020 - Aviation Weather Hazards: Identify and Avoid 4:00 PM PDT/7:00 PM EDT

Saturday, 23 May 2020 - Aviation Weather Hazards: Identify and Avoid 8:00 AM PDT/11:00 AM EDT

Wednesday, 27 May 2020 - Aviation Weather Hazards: Identify and Avoid 3:00 PM PDT/6:00 PM EDT

Weather Risk Assessment

In this 90 minute webinar (plus Q&A) Delia will demonstrate her method to clarify and add certainty to often conflicting weather information. 

    •    Learn the top tools to identify each of the six hazards

    •    The tool most pilots rely on—that is actually the LEAST reliable tool (and what to use instead) 

    •    How to identify "invisible” hazards.

    •    Recognizing LLWS even when it's not forecast. 

This is our level 3 class for more experienced pilots, however, it can also benefit low time pilots.

Dates offered for this month:

Monday, 18 May 2020 - Weather Risk Assessment 3:30 PM PDT/6:30 PM EDT

Monday, 25 May 2020 - Weather Risk Assessment 4:30 PM PDT/7:30 PM EDT

Friday, 29 May 2020 - Weather Risk Assessment 9:00 AM PDT/12:00 PM EDT

 

We look forward to seeing you in these webinars.  Fly safe!

To view further details and registration information for this webinar, click here.

The sponsor for this seminar is: FAASTeam

The following credit(s) are available for the WINGS/AMT Programs:

n/a  

Click here to view the WINGS help page 

TFC Base:  McKinney National  Airport, McKinney, Texas

Radio Frequencies:

  • Tower: 118.825
  • Ground: 121.875
  • Clearance Delivery (when ATCT closed): 121.35
  • ASOS: 119.925
    (972-548-8525)
  • Unicom: 122.95
P1010008s

http://www.collincountyregionalairport.org

Approach and Navigation Facilities:

  • Regional Approach: 124.3
  • Fort Worth FSS (FTW) 1-800-WX-Brief
  • VOR-DME 114.6 (BYP)
  • ILS w/DME RWY 18: 109.35 (JIPUK)
  • VOR w/DME 113.1 (TTT)
  • RTR-O (only after hours): 121.35
  • VASI: RWY 36
  • PAPI: RWY 18
  • MALSR: RWY 18

 

 

 
Contact the Webmaster With Questions or Comments About This Site

© 2007 Texins Flying Club  Advise on initial contact you have information Tango Foxtrot Charlie.