Member Login

Texins Flying Club is a non-profit club based at McKinney National Airport in McKinney, TX.  Our purpose is to encourage interest in aviation, to advance the knowledge of the members in aeronautical and navigational subjects, and to bring to more people the social benefits and pleasure of flying.”



FacebookLogo  Join us on Face Book

Latest Newsletter

Local Weather / Notams

 Upcoming Safety Events

FAA Training Documents


TFC Store 

Robert McLeod has worked up a great looking Store on Cafe Press. Check out the offerings and wear them when you come to the airport.

Take the link on the Miscellaneous Menu  or 



 Wings Manual 

Check out this manual for the Wings Program.

WINGS is a preferred way to complete the requirements of the BFR and is urged by the Chief Flight Instructor of the Texins Flying Club. 


What is it and why?    more.....  


BasicMed resources


The Latest News

New Fuel Receipt Procedure

The new procedure is to note the offsite fuel gallons in your tach log entry as before and to email your receipt with the usual information:

  • Tail number
  • Gallons purchased
  • Club number
  • Date

Then take a photo of your receipt showing the purchase location and the amounts purchased – make sure the image is legible – and attach the receipt image to the email.

Send your message to email address:  

Instructional Video on using G430 / FlightStream with Foreflight

Need help getting Foreflight and the G430 to talk to each other? Chris Dennis put together a nice YouTube video on how to connect and synchronize your flight plan. It's short and to the point and worth watching.



 The Pilot Guide       Check out the Intro Video

iPad Simulator Download        PC Simulator Download

A new Scenario-Based Course to Help you Use the IFD550, IFD540 and the IFD440 GPS/Nav/COMs. Available from Amazon.

N733NB now has ADS-B Traffic & Weather with Bluetooth for use with a portable device

Old Panel New Panel New Stack

 Old Panel

 New Panel

 New Stack


The Department of Homeland Security and the Transportation Security Administration (TSA) continue to monitor reports on potential terrorist threats in the United States. While there is no specific or credible intelligence that al-Qa'ida or its affiliates are plotting attacks in the United States to coincide with the ten year anniversary of 9/11 , we remain at a heightened state of vigilance and security measures are in place to detect and prevent plots against the United States should they emerge.

Learn To Fly

 Wet Rates and Reimbursements

Schedule a Discovery Flight

TFC provides "discovery" flights to anyone interested in flying. For only $99.00 we'll put you in the left seat with a certified flight instructor and let you fly the airplane. WHAT BETTER WAY TO DECIDE IF FLYING IS FOR YOU? Contact our chief flight instructor to take advantage of this offer.  You can pay by check or by using paypal_logo.

Tail No.

Make Model (info)



C-172N  1978 SuperHawk




C172N-180  1977 SuprHawk




C172N-180  1978 Skyhawk




C-182P  1973 Skylane




PA28-R180  1968 PiperArrow




Our aircraft flight fees are WET TACH time, which means fuel is included and time is measured on engine use, not wall clock time. Non-instructional flights have an additional 8.25% sales tax. More information...

If your credit card is not current, please fill out the Credit Card Authorization Form included in the New Member Application Packet. All members both new and old need to have a copy of this Packet  completely fill out, signed & dated and sent to the address shown on the Credit Card Authorization form.

Reimbursement Rate

$4.79 / gallon

effective as of

If you refuel an aircraft on a trip and spend less than this on 100LL, we pass the savings on to you!

Things to Consider

TFC Pilot Acknowledgments & Events

Membership meetings:

Held the second Saturday of every month at the McKinney Airport (upper level conferance room) at 9:30 AM. Board meetings are on the preceding Wednesday each month at 6:30 PM and are held at the Airport in the upstairs conference room. Both are open to the public.

 Directions  to
Collin Country Regional Airport

Welcome Newest Members!

Larry Abston

Matthew Bransky

Michael Brian Brown

Kevin Carr

Gary Cooper

Anthony Jones

Cole Schmitt

Marcelo Silva

Clark Stroup

Kelly Towery

Shiv Venkatasetty

Bryan Wakelin

Christopher White


Member News & Notes





Billie Williamson  07/10/2017   Private Pilot   Richard Klein  
Colton Regan 07/12/2017  Private Pilot  Niedwiecki / Eilts 
Allie Dyer 07/18/2017  1st Solo Rich Graham 
Sai Vogirala 08/23/2017  1st Solo Rich Graham 
Chester Jackson 10/20/2017 Instrument Airplane Hank Eilts
Sai Vogirala 02/11/2018  Private Pilot Graham/Stephens

 Upcoming Event(s)



Mar 21 

  Safer Skyes Through Education 

"Weather Risk Assessment"

Topic: Gain Confidence in Weather Using Great Weather Detection Tools

On Wednesday, March 21, 2018 at 16:30 Pacific Daylight Time (17:30 MDT, 18:30 CDT, 19:30 EDT, 13:30 HST, 15:30 AKDT, 16:30 Arizona, 23:30 GMT)

Select Number: WP0181604

Description: In this 90 minute webinar (plus Q&A) Delia will demonstrate her method to clarify and add  certainty to often conflicting weather information. 

  • The top resource for assessing potential turbulence or mountain wave.
  • The most unreliable site that most pilots depend on (and what to use instead) 
  • How to determine if icing is a factor
  • Recognizing LLWS even when it's not forecast. 

Click here to register today

To view further details and registration information for this webinar, click here.

The sponsor for this seminar is: FAASTeam

The following credit(s) are available for the WINGS/AMT Programs:

  • Basic Knowledge 3 - 1 Credit
  • Advanced Knowledge 1 - 1 Credit

Click here to view the WINGS help page 


Mar 21 

 Safer Skyes Through Education  

"NAFI Mentor LIVE - Telling is Not Teaching Chapter 2 - Presented by Author Mike Thompson"

Topic: Mike Thompson continues his Telling is Not Teaching series with  Chapter 2 to add value to the Aviation Instructors Handbook

On Wednesday, March 21, 2018 at 19:00 Central Daylight Time (17:00 PDT, 18:00 MDT, 20:00 EDT, 14:00 HST, 16:00 AKDT, 17:00 Arizona, 00:00 GMT)

Select Number: CE0381944

Description: The psychology of learning involves many things including motivation, the learning cycle and communication. In chapter 2 we examine the learning cycle as a simple model to help us lend clarity to the seemingly chaotic learning process.

The learning process seems chaotic when viewed from the outside because every learner will approach their learning in different ways. Viewed from the perspective of the learning cycle, we see that it is not chaotic after all, but a fluid process dependent on an understanding of how learning truly occurs.

True deep learning only occurs where learners have time to openly grapple with new content. The four part learning cycle is a guide through the new content, yet at the same time allows any learner to grapple with that content in their own way. This is the beauty in this simple model.

To view further details and registration information for this webinar, click here.

The sponsor for this seminar is: FAASTeam

The following credit(s) are available for the WINGS/AMT Programs:

  • Master Knowledge 1 - 1 Credit

Click here to view the WINGS help page 


Mar 27 

 Safer Skyes Through Education    

"Airspace Made Easy"

Topic: Yes, we fly in a complex airspace system! We'll share some easy  tricks to help that, and to build your airspace confidence!

On Tuesday, March 27, 2018 at 19:00 Eastern Daylight Time (16:00 PDT, 17:00 MDT, 18:00 CDT, 13:00 HST, 15:00 AKDT, 16:00 Arizona, 23:00 GMT)

Select Number: EA6581908

Description: Many pilots find airspace to be somewhat complicated.  Some tend to stay in their comfort zones, and don't often venture off to new and fun places.  Others might avoid flying into towered airports, or into busy terminal areas.  Beyond private pilot ground school or reading the regs, there are not a lot of good opportunities to really brush up on airspace knowledge.  In this webinar we will explore the two important topics in airspace.  Airspace boundaries and airspace rules.  Truth is, it's really not complicated at all.  With a few quick tricks, anyone can master airspace and feel confident to fly anywhere.

To view further details and registration information for this webinar, click here.

The sponsor for this seminar is: FAASTeam

The following credit(s) are available for the WINGS/AMT Programs:

  • Basic Knowledge 3 - 1 Credit
  • Basic Knowledge 3 - 1 Credit

Click here to view the WINGS help page 

TFC Base:  McKinney National  Airport, McKinney, Texas

Radio Frequencies:

  • Tower: 118.825
  • Ground: 121.875
  • Clearance Delivery (when ATCT closed): 121.35
  • ASOS: 119.925
  • Unicom: 122.95


Approach and Navigation Facilities:

  • Regional Approach: 124.3
  • Fort Worth FSS (FTW) 1-800-WX-Brief
  • ILS w/DME RWY 18: 109.35 (COM MELISA)
  • VOR w/DME 116.2 (CVE)
  • NDB (COM) 421 (VLY)
  • RTR-O (only after hours): 121.35 (delete) Outer Marker: 421
  • VASI: RWY 36
  • PAPI: RWY 18
  • MALSR: RWY 18



Contact the Webmaster With Questions or Comments About This Site

© 2007 Texins Flying Club  Advise on initial contact you have information Tango Foxtrot Charlie.